Skip to content
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Counts — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, in numbers.Local help →

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, in numbers

People and living standards

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 332,691 in 1991 to 405,829 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 339,916 people in 1996; 405,829 people in 2025. 19.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991332,691
1992334,554
1993336,206
1994337,738
1995339,604
1996339,916
1997343,004
1998344,485
1999344,425
2000345,785
2001346,829
2002348,717
2003348,483
2004348,506
2005351,616
2006353,901
2007359,462
2008363,158
2009366,948
2010373,760
2011379,441
2012382,465
2013385,483
2014389,727
2015392,499
2016397,066
2017399,374
2018400,064
2019400,182
2020399,564
2021400,155
2022403,014
2023406,976
2024408,009
2025405,829
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 59,473 people in 1996; 64,076 people in 2025. 7.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199155,586
199256,569
199357,617
199458,700
199559,265
199659,473
199760,261
199860,554
199960,266
200060,228
200159,997
200259,132
200358,270
200457,469
200557,499
200657,606
200758,222
200858,907
200959,676
201060,573
201161,499
201262,198
201362,710
201463,285
201563,838
201664,651
201765,132
201865,423
201965,513
202065,270
202165,310
202265,536
202365,534
202464,967
202564,076
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 203,327 people in 1996; 251,131 people in 2025. 23.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991199,462
1992200,458
1993201,152
1994201,793
1995202,976
1996203,327
1997205,855
1998207,298
1999207,733
2000209,778
2001211,195
2002214,131
2003215,064
2004216,349
2005219,591
2006222,383
2007227,004
2008229,584
2009231,950
2010236,949
2011240,717
2012240,851
2013241,799
2014244,016
2015245,491
2016248,508
2017249,642
2018249,537
2019248,515
2020247,936
2021247,980
2022249,890
2023253,094
2024253,780
2025251,131
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 77,116 people in 1996; 90,622 people in 2025. 17.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199177,643
199277,527
199377,437
199477,245
199577,363
199677,116
199776,888
199876,633
199976,426
200075,779
200175,637
200275,454
200375,149
200474,688
200574,526
200673,912
200774,236
200874,667
200975,322
201076,238
201177,225
201279,416
201380,974
201482,426
201583,170
201683,907
201784,600
201885,104
201986,154
202086,358
202186,865
202287,588
202388,348
202489,262
202590,622
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 400,195 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh13,5513.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,2331.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups11,0932.8%
White365,51091.3%
Other ethnic group5,8081.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,508 per person in 1997; £26,164 per person in 2024. 127.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,508
199811,711
199912,240
200012,847
200113,332
200213,381
200313,808
200414,390
200514,945
200615,674
200716,294
200816,567
200916,240
201016,626
201116,850
201217,162
201317,805
201418,193
201519,162
201619,231
201719,614
201820,342
201921,289
202021,181
202122,113
202223,376
202324,710
202426,164
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 8.5% in 1997; 0.8% in 2024. 7.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19978.5
19988.2
19998.2
20007.9
20017.8
20025.8
20035.9
20046
20056.3
20067
20076.2
20085.2
20091.4
20102.9
20113.4
20121.6
20131.7
20140.6
20150.7
2016-0.1
2017-0.4
2018-0.3
20191
20200.9
20211.2
20221.8
20231.1
20240.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.5%

21 March 2021 · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.7%

21 March 2021 · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.9%

21 March 2021 · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.2%

21 March 2021 · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£310,000

July 2026 · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,398

August 2026 · Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2001 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.